Black History Month Guide
February is a time to celebrate the achievements and history of African Americans. Get started today!
African Americans in STEM Wikipedia Edit-A-Thon
PBS series "Jazz" by Ken Burns
Very Short Introductions
Until March 1, 2021, @rmclib has a trial of the full title catalog of
Very Short Introductions from Oxford University Press
"All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable."
Check them out and be sure to "Browse all VSIs ..." to see the wide range of subjects! Email us, library@rmc.edu, and let us know what you think!
The Accessible Archives
Now available to the R-MC community, The Accessible Archives is a collection of historical periodicals and books from the 18th century to the early 20th century including colonial-era newspapers; 19th century African-American newspapers; publications on the women's suffrage movement; materials on America in WWI; sources on the Civil War and Reconstruction; American County Histories.
Resources
Dennis Howard Interviews
RMC Hidden History - Dennis Howard, Class of 1972
To find and listen to his interviews for Macon Memories, click the tab for F-M, and scroll down to find his name.
Students, Get a Public Library Card!
On-Campus students! Anxious to read a trending bestseller? Looking for a video to stream? Apply for a Pamunkey Regional Student Library card. It's easy to do and you will receive your card by mail in about 7 days! If you are a local commuter, you may also be eligible for a card.
Streaming Video Services
@rmclib has several streaming services available offering over 120,000 films. Check them out! Many genres, subjects, and languages. Log in with your @rmc account and start watching! New titles are added each month so be sure to check back.
Music!
Queue up a playlist on the Naxos Music Database or... Theatre! watch a play from the National Theatre Collection!
Britannica Academic
This expanded online version of the classic Encyclopaedia Britannica includes articles, primary sources, ebooks, and multimedia content attached to the traditional encyclopaedia entries.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Comprehensive video collection containing over 70,000 titles covering a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Displays
Armchair Traveler
If you can't travel in-person, go virtually by reading, watching or cooking your way there. Take a look below and find a place to go today and maybe another tomorrow!
Great Start to 2021!
Full-text eBooks are available for you to get a great start to 2021! Find them on this online, on-demand book display!
Study Tips
Study tips, techniques and links to people who can help. Look at them now to learn some new methods and connect with the right people.
Women in Science
A title list from @rmclib's book collection. Take your pick from print and eBook options.
Be a Successful Student
Looking for some books to read on how to be successful in college? Tips, techniques and more!
McGraw-Page Library
Connect @rmclib
- Make an appointment to use the library, email library@rmc.edu or call 804.752.7257
- Chat with a librarian @ https://library.rmc.edu/chat
- Find full-text eBooks and articles @ https://library.rmc.edu
- Find resources in your subject @ https://library.rmc.edu/subject-guides
- Get research help @ https://library.rmc.edu/library/research-help
- Make an appointment with a librarian to discuss your research needs @ https://rmc.libcal.com/appointments
@rmclib FAQs
Check out @rmclib's FAQs! If you don't find your answer, send your question to library@rmc.edu or by using "Ask Us" from main page. Someone will answer you as soon as possible.
Reserve a Study Space
There are reservable study rooms and carrels available @rmclib!
Japanese Woodblock Prints
Via Family Asian Art Collection - Japanese Woodblock Prints
Randolph-Macon College was chosen by the beneficiaries to be the recipient of this gift in appreciation for the progress made in recent years by the College in developing a Department of Asian Studies and also in accumulating a significant Asian Art Collection for the College. Donated in 2014 by The Via Family (Rev. Bernard S., Balfour and Wali David) brothers of Richard A. Via (1922-2008). This gift is given in memory of Margaret Vaughan Johnson Via (1926-2013).
How @rmclib Can Help
Online? Hybrid? f2f? This guide contains resources to support you!