Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Academic Support for Films: Locating Films for Class Use

Information on film use for classes

Locating Films for Class Use

For a known title, check the Library catalog to determine if the film is available in the Library on DVD or available in one of our film subscription databases.

The Academic Video Online (AVON) and Films on Demand databases are subscription databases, so there are no additional costs incurred. All films are listed in the Library catalog and can be located either through the search on the Library home page or the database links below. Content from Academic Video Online or Films on Demand do not need to be requested as these are subscription collections. To embed a link in Canvas or your syllabus, locate the film in the database, and from the film information screen choose "Share" and follow the instructions to copy the link.

To find a film on a particular TOPIC in Academic Video Online (AVON):
In addition to a keyword search, you can browse by subject in the AVON database. To do this, choose to filter your results by clicking on the image in the middle  that looks like a funnel:    

Then choose a subject and a subcategory under that, which may have further subcategories. The numbers after each category and subcategory is how many films are in the category – many are cross-listed in multiple categories.

 

To find a film on a particular TOPIC in Films on Demand:
In addition to a keyword search, you can browse by subject in the Films on Demand database.

To do this, click on the 3 lined symbol   next to the Films on Demand logo, which will open a box listing subjects, popular categories, and featured producers.