Breaks are an important part of your study plan!
Be sure to fit them in!
Here are some quick brain breaks
Finish Strong!
Will you vote early in this year's election? Not sure where or how to? If you're registered to vote in Virginia call the registrar’s office where you are registered to find out more information. If you are registered outside of Virginia, check here. Hurry, the deadline in Virginia is Saturday, October 31!
The Flavia Reed Owen Special Collections and Archives of McGraw-Page Library is collecting first-hand accounts from this unprecedented time in modern history. We know the COVID-19 pandemic is having a tremendous impact on our students, faculty, and staff, and we want to preserve these stories of Randolph-Macon College's community for future generations.
Please visit https://library.rmc.edu/covid19 to learn more about this project and to contribute your story. We will be collecting materials through December 31, 2020.
If you have any questions about how to share different types of files or collected material, about this form, or any other questions or concerns, please contact the Flavia Reed Owen Special Collections and Archives at archives@rmc.edu.
Don't forget to take breaks while you're studying and have some snacks. Look for recipes for some healthy (and not-so-healthy) snacks at:
https://library.rmc.edu/studentsuccess/health
Looking for something different to do? Try a transcription project at: The National Archives or The Smithsonian. If you don't find a project there, do an online search for archives transcription projects. You will find many other opportunities!
Are you registered to vote?
To register in Virginia:
https://vote.elections.virginia.gov/VoterInformation
To register in other states:
Queue up some scary movies this weekend!
In honor of Juneteenth, today June 19, 2020, the McGraw-Page Library is sharing some eBooks @ http://folios.rmc.edu/library/2020/06/19/black-lives-matter-resources/ to help readers further their understanding of the Black Lives Matter movement.
Do you know what "Black Lives Matter" means? Take some time to learn about how the slogan became a movement by watching films, reading popular eBooks and connecting through various websites @ https://library.rmc.edu/conversations/BLM
"Juneteenth Book Fest seeks to use this day of jubilation to boost and celebrate Black American stories and the people behind them. Follow us on social media @JuneteenthBkFst." Watch @ https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCu--Ur5D1oWHD3JOM9rODxw/featured A great way to celebrate!
Celebrate Pride Month! Read our blog post featuring several relevant eBooks that are available in the Library's collection at https://folios.rmc.edu/library/2020/06/26/4-pride-resources-in-june/ To find more digital information and resources, a good place to start is The Library of Congress's guide at https://www.loc.gov/lgbt-pride-month/
Looking for something to read?
Try the National Emergency Library @internetarchive https://buff.ly/2xqGZBg! Free access until at least 6/30/20! No library card needed! Check your local public library for Overdrive https://www.overdrive.com or Hoopla https://hoopladigital.com. Click the links and sign up with your local public library card number! More information can be found @ https://buff.ly/3bu6qAE
