Historic Newspapers
American Newspapers
- African American Newspapers (Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new windowIncludes a dozen important African American newspapers. Dates range from 1827-1919. For a more comprehensive collection with over 350 papers, see: African American Newspapers, Series 1 &2 (Readex)
- African American Newspapers, Series 1 & 2 (Readex) This link opens in a new windowFull text of over 350 African American newspapers published throughout the U.S. from 1827-1998, documenting the African American experience through coverage of African American history, culture, and daily life.
- Making of America Journals (Michigan) This link opens in a new windowA digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
- New York Times with Index (Historical; 1851- 4 years ago) This link opens in a new windowHistoric archive of the New York Times newspaper from 1851-4 years ago. Includes the complete indexes from 1851-1993 in addition to full-text searching. For current articles, choose the New York Times database.
- Richmond Times-Dispatch, 1903-present This link opens in a new windowDaily newspaper for Richmond. Page images from 1903-1986 and for 2018-present; full text only from 1986-2017. Part of Access World News database.
Local Newspapers:
- Yellow Jacket (Randolph-Macon College) - microfilm and Special Collections, 1915--present, no index.
- Ashland Herald-Progress - microfilm, 1919--2018, no index.
- Richmond Christian Advocate - microfilm, 1869--1939, index on first reel of microfilm.
- Virginia Gazette Online:1736-1780: See Accessible Archives Database.
British Newspapers
- British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text searchable editions with page images of nearly 50 newspapers from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. In addition to articles, includes advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorials, etc.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text of the Times of London newspaper from 1785 through 6 years ago.
- London Gazette Archive (selected indexing from 1665 to present, with results in PDF format.)
Official newspaper of record for UK. Portal also includes Edinburgh Gazette and Belfast Gazette. - Northern Star - microfilm, 1838-1852, no index.
- Publication location is Leeds for 1838--1844 and London for 1845--1852. Also known as: Northern Star, and Leeds General Advertiser (1838 - Nov. 23, 1844); Northern Star, and National Trades' Journal (Nov. 30, 1844 - Mar. 13, 1852); Star and National Trades' Journal (Mar. 20, 1852 - May 1, 1852); and Star of Freedom (May 8, 1852 - Nov. 27, 1852).
- People's Paper (London) - microfilm, 1852--1858, no index.
Contemporary Newspapers
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull-text newspapers from around the U.S. and the world, including the Richmond Times-Dispatch and many other local and regional newspapers in Virginia. Incorporates America's News database with addition of international sources.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowCovers global news and business information, including newswires, newspapers, magazines, and company reports.
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowOnline edition of the newspaper, covering all aspects of higher education.
- Richmond Times-DispatchFor earlier articles: Library has current 3 months in print and 1950 to 3 months ago on microfilm; 1995 to present available full text in LexisNexis Academic database.
- Today's Front Pages (From the Newseum)Current front page images from over 900 newspapers spanning the globe.
- New York Times This link opens in a new window***There has been a change to the NY Times start page for campus accounts. Users are now directed to a page that either prompts them to create an account (claim your pass) or, if you have already claimed your pass, it says your pass is active and indicates the time left before they must renew the account and has a “go to nytimes.com” button. This only affects web-based access and not the app. *** Faculty and staff must renew their accounts every 4 years; student accounts expire in September of their graduation year.
Although this includes full text searchable access to the New York Times newspaper from 1851-present with original page images, a better choice for historic articles is our database New York Times with Index (Historical; 1851- 4 years ago) . Includes access to international edition, multimedia channels and more.
News Magazines (Contemporary and Historic)
- Magazine Archives This link opens in a new windowFull text of 10 of the most important 20th century popular news and business magazines: Time, Life, U.S. News & World Report, The Atlantic, The Nation, The New Republic, The National Review, Forbes, Fortune, and Bloomberg Businessweek. Coverage is from the beginning of each magazine, with varying ending dates.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1-5 This link opens in a new windowThousands of American periodicals in all subject areas published from 1691-1877.
- HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction This link opens in a new windowOnline edition of Harper's Weekly, a newspaper including editorials and illustrations. Covers 1857-1877.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890 -- 1982 This link opens in a new windowIndex covers nearly 100 years of articles from popular magazines in all subject areas.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowArticles from selected popular magazines and scholarly journals in all disciplines.
