Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business: The Industrial Revolution

Reference Sources

Locating Books

In the Library of Congress Classification, books about Great Britain are under DA and statistical sources are in HA, while atlases are in G. When you find a book that looks useful, check the area around it for books on the same or similar topics.

Use subjects such as:
Great Britain
Working Class
Industries
Child Labor

To narrow it down, look for subheadings such as:
History
19th Century
Social Life and Customs
Social Conditions
Economic Conditions

For instance:
Great Britain-economic conditions-19th century
Working class-Great Britain-History

To locate print books and ebooks in the Library's collections, use the WorldCat Discovery search box located to the right on this page. The links below to specific ebook collections will allow you to search inside the ebooks, for which the WorldCat Discovery link has limited capability .

Locating Articles (Databases and Indexes)

Statistics and Data Sets

UK Statistics Authority and the Office for National Statistics

EUROSTAT (European Community)

ILOSTAT (International Labour Organization)

Human Development Reports (United Nations Development Programme)

NationMaster
Searchable national-level data; allows user to create customized statistical comparisons.

UNSTATS (United Nations Statistical Division)

Historic Newspapers

American Newspapers

 

Ashland Herald-Progress - microfilm, 1919--2018, no index.

Richmond Christian Advocate - microfilm, 1869--1939, index on first reel of microfilm.

Richmond Daily Dispatch (1860--1865)

Electronic full-text access to primary Richmond newspaper during the Civil War years.

Richmond Times-Dispatch Historical Archive (1903-1986)

Paper and its preceding papers available online from 1850--1922 via Chronicling America (see entry below) as Daily Dispatch, 1850--1884; Richmond Dispatch, 1884--1903; Daily Times, 1886--1889; Times, 1890--1903; Times-Dispatch, 1903-1914, Richmond Times-Dispatch 1914-1922.

Virginia Gazette - microfilm, 1736-1780, index at Ref. F221 .V45 1950

Virginia Gazette Online - 1736--1780, some known issues missing from the online version (digitized by Colonial Williamsburg Foundation).

Yellow Jacket (Randolph-Macon College) - microfilm and Special Collections, 1915--present, no index.

Collections:

Birth of America - microfilm, 1763-1783, various newspapers; index volume at Ref. E187 .J65 

Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective - November 1860 -- April 1865

Full-text and images of Civil War era newspapers: The Charleston Mercury, The New York Herald, and the Richmond Enquirer. Other newspapers are listed when connection to this database; we do NOT have access to the other newspapers.

Chronicling America (1789--1963; dates vary for selected papers; most prior to 1923)

Based at the Library of Congress, this is an online newspaper collection millions of pages; includes serveral Virginia,newspapers including the Richmond Times-Dispatch and its predecessors, and several DC newspapers.

British Newspapers

London Gazette Archive (selected indexing from 1665 to present, with results in PDF format.) Official newspaper of record for UK. Portal also includes Edinburgh Gazette and Belfast Gazette.

People's Paper (London) - microfilm, 1852--1858, no index.

WorldCat Discovery Search (books)