Skip to Main Content

Primary Sources Guide

How to find primary source materials in the McGraw-Page Library in a variety of disciplines

Primary Sources Guide

Primary Sources Published in Newspapers and Magazines

Primary Sources Published in Newspapers and Magazines

 

For a complete list of the Library's historic and contemporary newspapers and magazine databases, see Newspapers, News Magazines and Television News Research Guide. 

American Historic Newspapers:

African American Newspapers (Accessible Archives) 
Includes a dozen important African American newspapers. Dates range from 1827-1919. For a more comprehensive collection with over 350 papers, see: African American Newspapers, Series 1 &2 (Readex)

African American Newspapers, Series 1 & 2 (Readex) 
Full text of over 350 African American newspapers published throughout the U.S. from 1827-1998, documenting the African American experience through coverage of African American history, culture, and daily life.

New York Times with Index (Historical; 1851- 4 years ago) 
Historic archive of the New York Times newspaper from 1851-4 years ago. Includes the complete indexes from 1851-1993 in addition to full-text searching. For current articles, see the New York Times database.

Richmond Times-Dispatch, 1903-present 
Daily newspaper for Richmond. Page images from 1903-1986 and for 2018-present; full text only from 1986-2017. Part of Access World News database.

British Historic Newspapers:

British Library Newspapers 
Full-text searchable editions with page images of nearly 50 newspapers from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. In addition to articles, includes advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorials, etc.

Times Digital Archive (Times of London)
Searchable full text of the Times of London newspaper from 1785 through 6 years ago.

Historic News Magazines:

Magazine Archives 
Full text of 10 of the most important 20th century popular news and business magazines: Time, Life, U.S. News & World Report, The Atlantic, The Nation, The New Republic, The National Review, Forbes, Fortune, and Bloomberg Businessweek. Coverage is from the beginning of each magazine, with varying ending dates.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1-5 
Thousands of American periodicals in all subject areas published from 1691-1877.

HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction 
Online edition of Harper's Weekly, a newspaper including editorials and illustrations. Covers 1857-1877.

Historic Magazine Index:

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890 -- 1982
Index covers nearly 100 years of articles from popular magazines in all subject areas.