Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News Magazines (Contemporary and Historic)
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from selected popular magazines and scholarly journals in all disciplines.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1-5 This link opens in a new window
Thousands of American periodicals in all subject areas published from 1691-1877.
HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction This link opens in a new window
Online edition of Harper's Weekly, a newspaper including editorials and illustrations. Covers 1857-1877.
Magazine Archives This link opens in a new window
Full text of 10 of the most important 20th century popular news and business magazines: Time, Life, U.S. News & World Report, The Atlantic, The Nation, The New Republic, The National Review, Forbes, Fortune, and Bloomberg Businessweek. Coverage is from the beginning of each magazine, with varying ending dates.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890 -- 1982 This link opens in a new window
Index covers nearly 100 years of articles from popular magazines in all subject areas.
All of the news magazines listed below are indexed in the databases above. The current periodical stacks are located on the first floor of the library, across from the reference materials. Check the Library's Journal Title Search for additional sources and dates, as many of these are available full text in additional databases.
- Christian Century - microfiche.
- Harper's - microfiche and current periodical stacks.
- Nation - microfiche and current periodical stacks.
- Newsweek - microfiche, microfilm.
- New Republic - microfiche and current periodical stacks.
- Saturday Review - microfilm, microfiche.
- U.S. News & World Report - microfilm, microfiche.