Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database of journal and trade articles and book chapters on communications, advertising, linguistics, mass media, and related fields.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, conference papers, books and book chapters in sociology and and related fields such as cultural anthropology and criminal justice; includes full text from over 800 journals and over 800 books, as well as 1400 conference papers.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from selected popular magazines and scholarly journals in all disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of thousands of journals in many disciplines.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers from around the U.S. and the world, including the Richmond Times-Dispatch and many other local and regional newspapers in Virginia. Incorporates America's News database with addition of international sources.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation. Includes indexing and cited references for items published 1900-present.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from U.S. and international newspapers, newswires, and television and radio broadcasts; also includes photographs and other images, and primary source documents.
New York Times This link opens in a new window ***You must first create a personal user account at this link NYTimes User Account Setup and login with this account for full access to the database. ***
Faculty and staff must renew their accounts annually; student accounts expire in September of their graduation year.
Although this includes full text searchable access to the New York Times newspaper from 1851-present with original page images, a better choice for historic articles is our database New York Times with Index (Historical; 1851- 4 years ago)
. Includes access to international edition, multimedia channels and more.
New York Times with Index (Historical; 1851- 4 years ago) This link opens in a new window
Historic archive of the New York Times newspaper from 1851-4 years ago. Includes the complete indexes from 1851-1993 in addition to full-text searching. For current articles, choose the New York Times database.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Web version of The Washington Post (current 15 years only). This DOES NOT SUPPORT the Washington Post app, and you may not have an ad blocker running.
Magazine Archives This link opens in a new window
Full text of 10 of the most important 20th century popular news and business magazines: Time, Life, U.S. News & World Report, The Atlantic, The Nation, The New Republic, The National Review, Forbes, Fortune, and Bloomberg Businessweek. Coverage is from the beginning of each magazine, with varying ending dates.
Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Archive of important international publication providing economic and political analysis on the world's political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments. Covers 1843 - 4 years ago; current 4 years available in print.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Covers global news and business information, including newswires, newspapers, magazines, and company reports.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
This database allows easy creation of maps and tables using social, demographic, economic, environmental, and health data covering a wide range of time periods. U.S. and international data is included. Please note: limited to 3 simultaneous users, so try again in a few minutes if you cannot get in right away.
Interlibrary Loan allows you to get items like journal articles or books that R-MC does not own or have access to from other libraries around the world. To learn more, visit the ILL page.
Place an Interlibrary Loan Request or Check Your Account Below
My Library Account
Journal Title Search
Click the link above to search for a journal or browse titles by discipline.