Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Student Success Librarian
Choosing a Database
The library has general databases, which means they have a little bit of everything and subject specific databases, meaning they have a lot of one or two things. When first starting your research I recommend starting in a general database and as you get a better idea of your topic and the scholarly conversation around it, move to a subject specific database.
Below you will find suggestions for getting started with both general and subject specific databases. This is not an exhaustive list of available databases but merely a jumping off point. You can find (and browse by subject) a full list of databases available through the library here!
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from selected popular magazines and scholarly journals in all disciplines.
A general database that can connect with the library to provide access to more articles. Sometimes you might find articles here that the library doesn't have, but you can request those articles from ILL and we'll have them e-mailed to you in a couple days!
English, History, and Social Science Databases:
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of thousands of journals in many disciplines.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Access to over 300 journal titles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database indexes over 2,400 journals, dissertations, and some books and book chapters. PsycINFO also includes the PsycARTICLES database with access to full text journals published by the APA and affiliated publishers.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation. Includes indexing and cited references for items published 1900-present.
Medline (PubMed) This link opens in a new window
Now only available as PubMed (Medline).
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
See also Web of Science for biomedical research.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Index to a wide range of education materials including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Includes full text of ERIC Documents and Open Access (OA) journal publications.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes all areas of education and development from early childhood through higher education.
Newspaper and Magazine Databases:
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers from around the U.S. and the world, including the Richmond Times-Dispatch and many other local and regional newspapers in Virginia. Incorporates America's News database with addition of international sources.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from U.S. and international newspapers, newswires, and television and radio broadcasts; also includes photographs and other images, and primary source documents.
Magazine Archives This link opens in a new window
Full text of 10 of the most important 20th century popular news and business magazines: Time, Life, U.S. News & World Report, The Atlantic, The Nation, The New Republic, The National Review, Forbes, Fortune, and Bloomberg Businessweek. Coverage is from the beginning of each magazine, with varying ending dates.