McGraw-Page Library: Multimedia Resources: Digital Images

Digitized Images

If you experience any access issues, contact us via online chat or email (library@rmc.edu).

Image Databanks

Art Images for College Teaching This link opens in a new window
Collection of public-domain images for download, focusing on paintings, sculpture, and architecture through the Renaissance, with some more modern images. (University of Michigan)
ARTstor: Now on JSTOR! This link opens in a new window
A premiere digital image library of art, architecture, and photography now incorporated into the JSTOR database.

Britannica Academic - Images and Videos
From history to technology, from philosophy & religion to science & mathematics, Britannica’s browses make it easy to explore relationships, scan a wide variety of connected content, or dig deep into a specific topic.

Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text of one of the most important weekly news magazines of the 20th century. Life was known for its photojournalism and many of the most famous images of the 20th century were published in this magazine, which covered both national and international events, politics, and culture. Coverage is from 1936 through its final issue in 2000.

NYBG C. V. Starr Virtual Herbarium
Explore our vast collection of NYBG Science digital images.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Includes over 200,000 articles and 15,000 images from two premier art reference works: Grove Dictionary of Art and Benezit Dictionary of Artists
Web Gallery of Art This link opens in a new window
"A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture" covering the years 1000–1850.

Yellow Jacket Annual
The first Yellow Jacket yearbook was published in 1899. The founding student editors dedicated the yearbook to the memory of Isaac Newton Vaughan, a friend and benefactor of the College who had served on the Board of Trustees. The Yellow Jacket is the mascot of the College.

Copyright Reminder

Remember that multimedia sources (images or film or audio clips) should be cited in your research or project just like any other source.

Unless an item is in the pubic domain or is licensed under a creative commons license, you must cite the creator of the image, film, or audio in your own work.

All citation styles such as MLA, APA, or Chicago, have guidelines for how to incorporate multimedia into your work.