McGraw-Page Library: Newspapers, News Magazines, and Television News: Newspapers

Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

McGraw-Page Library
Randolph-Macon College
P.O. Box 5005
305 Henry Street
Ashland VA 23005-5505

804-752-4718

Subjects: Communications, Economics / Business, Education, Gender / Sexuality / Women's Studies, General Research / Interdisciplinary, Political Science, Psychology, Reference, Sociology / Anthropology / Criminology

Contemporary Newspapers

New York Times This link opens in a new window
***There has been a change to the NY Times start page for campus accounts. Users are now directed to a page that either prompts them to create an account (claim your pass) or, if you have already claimed your pass, it says your pass is active and indicates the time left before they must renew the account and has a “go to nytimes.com” button. This only affects web-based access and not the app. *** Faculty and staff must renew their accounts every 4 years; student accounts expire in September of their graduation year.
Although this includes full text searchable access to the New York Times newspaper from 1851-present with original page images, a better choice for historic articles is our database New York Times with Index (Historical; 1851- 4 years ago) . Includes access to international edition, multimedia channels and more.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Current 15 years. New! Washington Post App access now included. To create a personal account to use the app, go to https://www.washingtonpost.com/subscribe/signup. You must use your RMC email address. Click on "your name" in the upper right-hand corner, then "My Post", and then "Manage Account." Make sure your email address is Verified, if not, click "Send verification email". When verified, go to the "Subscription & Billing" tab in My Post and click "Activate free digital access."
Richmond Times-Dispatch, 1903-present This link opens in a new window
Daily newspaper for Richmond. Page images from 1903-1986 and for 2018-present; full text only from 1986-2017. Part of Access World News database.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers from around the U.S. and the world, including the Richmond Times-Dispatch and many other local and regional newspapers in Virginia. Incorporates America's News database with addition of international sources.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Covers global news and business information, including newswires, newspapers, magazines, and company reports.
Latin American News Digest This link opens in a new window
A compilation of news articles from Latin American newspapers form the last month, with summaries of the article contents and links to the original articles.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Online edition of the newspaper, covering all aspects of higher education.

Newspapers from 50States.com
Today's Front Pages (From the Freedom forum)
Current front page images from over 900 newspapers spanning the globe.

Historic Newspapers

American Newspapers

New York Times with Index (Historical; 1851- 4 years ago) This link opens in a new window
Historic archive of the New York Times newspaper from 1851-4 years ago. Includes the complete indexes from 1851-1993 in addition to full-text searching. For current articles, choose the New York Times database.
Richmond Times-Dispatch, 1903-present This link opens in a new window
Daily newspaper for Richmond. Page images from 1903-1986 and for 2018-present; full text only from 1986-2017. Part of Access World News database.
Yellow Jacket (newspaper), 1915-2007 This link opens in a new window
The R-MC student newspaper, available from the Library of Virginia's Virginia Chronicle project. Please note that the title varied between issues in the same year, so check all three titles: Yellow Jacket, Yellow Jacket Record, and Yellow Jacket Weekly.

Richmond Times-Dispatch and its preceding papers available online from 1850--1922 via Chronicling America (see entry below) as Daily Dispatch, 1850--1884; Richmond Dispatch, 1884--1903; Daily Times, 1886--1889; Times, 1890--1903; Times-Dispatch, 1903-1914, Richmond Times-Dispatch 1914-1922.

Chronicling America (1789--1963; dates vary for selected papers; most prior to 1923)

Based at the Library of Congress, this is an online newspaper collection millions of pages; includes several Virginia,newspapers including the Richmond Times-Dispatch and its predecessors, and several DC newspapers.

Ashland] Herald Progress (1919-2018)- online through Virginia Chronicle (Library of Virginia). Also available on microfilm, no index.

Richmond Christian Advocate (1841-1902); Baltimore and Richmond Christian Advocate (1903-1918); Richmond Christian Advocate (1919-1939) - online through Virginia Chronicle (Library of Virginia). Also available on microfilm for 1869--1939, index on first reel of microfilm; print editions from 1869-2010 in Special Collections & Archives.

Richmond Daily Dispatch (1860--1865)

Electronic full-text access to primary Richmond newspaper during the Civil War years.

Virginia Gazette Online - 1736--1780, some known issues missing from the online version (digitized by Colonial Williamsburg Foundation). Also available in Accessible Archives database (see below).

Birth of America - microfilm, 1763-1783, various newspapers; index volume at E187 .J65

Most Accessible Archives subject collections include newspaper content from the colonial era through the early 20th century.

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical periodicals and books from the 18th century to the early 20th century including colonial-era newspapers; 19th century African-American newspapers; publications on the women's suffrage movement; materials on America in WWI; sources on the Civil War and Reconstruction; American County Histories.
African American Newspapers (Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new window
Includes a dozen important African American newspapers. Dates range from 1827-1919. For a more comprehensive collection with over 350 papers, see: African American Newspapers, Series 1 &2 (Readex)
African American Newspapers, Series 1 & 2 (Readex) This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 350 African American newspapers published throughout the U.S. from 1827-1998, documenting the African American experience through coverage of African American history, culture, and daily life.
African American Newspapers in the South, 1870-1926 This link opens in a new window
Includes newspapers published in the District of Columbia, Georgia, Louisiana, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee, and West Virginia that were published by and for the African American community.
African Americans and Jim Crow: Repression and Protest, 1883-1922 This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials on African-Americans during the Jim Crow era in American history.
African Americans and Reconstruction: Hope and Struggle, 1865-1883 This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials on African-Americans during the Reconstruction era in American history.

British Newspapers

British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-text searchable editions with page images of nearly 50 newspapers from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. In addition to articles, includes advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorials, etc.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of the Times of London newspaper from 1785 through 6 years ago.
London Gazette Archive This link opens in a new window
Official newspaper of record for UK. Portal also includes Edinburgh Gazette and Belfast Gazette.

People's Paper (London) - microfilm, 1852--1858, no index.