McGraw-Page Library: Primary Sources Guide: Social Sciences

Librarian

she/her/hers

Contact:

McGraw-Page Library
Randolph-Macon College
P.O. Box 5005
305 Henry Street
Ashland VA 23005-5505

804-752-4718

Subjects:Communications, Economics / Business, Education, Gender / Sexuality / Women's Studies, General Research / Interdisciplinary, Political Science, Psychology, Reference, Sociology / Anthropology / Criminology

Primary Sources in the Social Sciences

Primary sources in the Social Sciences include reports of original research, often published in scholarly journals or books; first-hand accounts such as manuscripts, correspondence, diaries and autobiographies, interviews and other first-hand accounts; legislation, court cases, and other legal documents; news stories contemporary to the events; objects, artifacts, and images; or research notes, raw data and statistics.

Databases and Collections

Journal articles and books containing reports of original research may be located using the various subject databases in each field of study at Research Guides by Subject. For news sources, see the Newspapers, News Magazines, and Television News guide. Included below is a selection of databases and sites with other types of primary source material. For a more comprehensive listing of databases covering social, economic, and political history, see the Primary Sources Guide for the Humanities.

Discovering American Women's History Online This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
This collection of primary source material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local grassroots groups, presents important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. Part 3 includes important publications documenting the history of sex, sexuality, and gender from the 16th-20th century Includes historical records and documents, publications, personal correspondence, interviews, and more
Although the majority of content is from the U.S., it is international in scope.
Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Covers the international history of disability, including primary and secondary sources in print and video.
Indigenous Peoples: North America, Parts 1 and 2 This link opens in a new window
Primary source archive of materials documenting the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples of North America from the seventeenth into the twentieth century.
Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Digital reproductions of over 66,000 rare primary source books and serial publications chronicling the development of the modern western world through world trade, exploration and colonization of the New World, the Industrial Revolution and the development of modern capitalism. Subject coverage includes history, political science, economics and business, women's studies, and legal and religious history. Individual publications are also in WorldCat Discovery
HeinOnline Government, Politics, & Law This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals. HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others. Full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase is included.

Digital Public Library of America
Searchable database of millions of digitized materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the United States.
Library of Congress Digital Collections

Statistics and Data Sets

Statistics

Social Explorer

This database allows easy creation of maps and tables using social, demographic, economic, environmental, and health data covering a wide range of time periods. U.S. and international data is included. Please note: limited to 3 simultaneous users, so try again in a few minutes if you cannot get in right away.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S. Department of Commerce)
Includes links to data from the Bureau of Economic Analysis, the Economic Census and other information from the Census Bureau, and other resources
U.S. Department of Commerce
The Department of Commerce collects, stores, and analyzes a wealth of information, including data on the Nation’s economy, population, and environment.
Government Statistics (USA.gov)
A trusted source for federal statistical information since 1997. FedStats supports a community of practice for over 100 agencies engaged in the production and dissemination of official federal statistics, and provides the public with a showcase of information, tools and news related to official federal statistics.
ILOSTAT (International Labour Organization)
A leading source of labor statistics from around the world, including topics such as poverty and inequality, unemployment, working conditions, and more.

Data Sets

Films and Videos

Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
Over 340 videos designed to improve the clinical skills of mental health professionals featuring experts in session with real clients, and step-by-step explanations of their interventions.
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, curriculum-focused video subscription providing unlimited access to thousands of videos, including Archival Films and Newsreels.
Films on Demand: Archival Films & Newsreels Collection – Academic This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive video collection covering a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of hours of historical film footage compiled from commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries on American history.