Interlibrary Loan Resource Sharing

Lending refers to other libraries requesting access to materials from the McGraw-Page Library's holdings.

Under the Quick Links Borrowing Tab on the Tipasa Homepage:

• Can You Supply: 
  • New - Copies: requested articles or chapters are fulfilled electronically through Article Exchange. eBook requests are fulfilled as copy when copyright allows. 
  • New - Loans: requested physical books.
• Supplied: items that RMC has supplied to other libraries.
  • Overdue: items that RMC has supplied to other libraries that are now passed their due date.
• Returned: items that RMC has supplied that have been checked back into the system and marked as shipped.
  • Returned/In Transit: items that RMC has supplied that are shipped and on their way back to the library.

Lending Copies:

Copies of Articles:

• Under the Quick Links Lending: category on the Tipasa Home page, click New - Copies.
• Click on a Title to open the request.
• Check the bottom right corner of the request page to see if the article is linked to a database.
  • If the article is linked and marked Yes for ILLs allowed, follow the link and download the article to be uploaded via Article Exchange.
  • Select the item to upload from your computer and click Open.
  • Click Drop File.
  • Check that a URL and Password have generated.
  • Preview the item to make sure it uploaded properly.
  • Click Yes at the top of the screen beside Can you supply?
• If the article is not linked, but it lists holdings of the item, these are bound journals/periodicals. Match the holdings to the volume requested to ensure we own the item.
  • If we own the item, look for it on the shelf and use the document scanner to scan the pages. This pdf can be uploaded via Article Exchange.
  • Select the item to upload from your computer and click Open.
  • Click Drop File.
  • Check that a URL and Password have generated.
  • Preview the item to make sure it uploaded properly.
  • Click Yes at the top of the screen beside Can you supply?
  • If we do not own the requested Volume, click the dropdown arrow beside No - No reason given and click No - Lacking volume/issue.
• If the article is not linked and is not a physically owned item, copy the Title of the journal into the search bar of the library website.
  • Locate the Volume, Issue/No, and Issue Date of the journal and match it to the request.
  • If available, download the article and upload it on the item request by using Article Exchange. 
  • Select the item to upload from your computer and click Open.
  • Click Drop File.
  • Check that a URL and Password have generated.
  • Preview the item to make sure it uploaded properly.
  • Click Yes at the top of the screen beside Can you supply?
  • If we do not own the issue (example: the request is for an article dated 1992, but our holdings are from 2005-present OR we have access to the Abstract but not the whole article), return to the request.
    • Click the dropdown arrow beside No - No reason given and click No - Lacking volume/issue.
  • If we own the issue but are unable to access the item due to a publisher embargo (sometimes publishers will put an embargo on items published in the last 12-15 months), return to the request. 
    • Click the dropdown arrow beside No - No reason given and click No - Publisher embargo.

Copies of Physical Book Chapters:

• Under the Quick Links Lending: category on the Tipasa Home page, click New - Copies.
• Click on a Title to open the request.
• Check the media type.
  • Books will display a book icon.
  • Double check that the type is listed as Copy and NOT Loan.
  • Loans will also have a place to scan the barcode to check out the item, while copies will not.
  • Do NOT mail the physical book for requests that say copy.
• Locate the book on the shelf and locate the chapter requested. 
• Use the book scanner or copy machine to copy the chapter to PDF. 
  • Follow the directions on the machine to copy the pages and email the PDF to your email. 
  • Edit the PDF as needed (cropping out fingers, removing unwanted pages, checking for readability).
• Upload the PDF via Article Exchange. 
• Select the item to upload from your computer and click Open.
• Click Drop File.
• Check that a URL and Password have generated.
• Preview the item to make sure it uploaded properly.
• Click Yes at the top of the screen beside Can you supply?

Copies of Digital/eBook Chapters:

• Copies of single book chapters are fine to loan if they are less than 10% of the book.
• Locate the eBook in our library catalog using the library website. Find the requested chapter.
• Download the chapter as a PDF and upload it on the item request by using Article Exchange. 
• Check to ensure that Article Exchange generated a URL and Password.
• Click Yes at the top of the screen beside Can you supply?

Lending Physical Loans:

• Under the Quick Links Lending: category on the Tipasa Home page, click New - Loans.
• Click on a Title to open the request.
• Look at the Local Holdings on the right hand side of the request.
• Double check the shelving location.
  • Note, not all items are circulating. See the list of non-circulating items below and make sure the item is circulating. 
  • If the item is not circulating, click the drop down arrow beside No - No reason given.
  • Click on No - Non-circulating.
• For circulating items, write down the call number and title on a sticky note. You may either locate the item yourself or instruct a student assistant to pull the item. 
• If the item is not on the shelves and is presumed missing, mark the book missing under Circulation.
  • Return to the request in Tipasa and click on the down arrow beside No - No reason given.
  • Select No - Not on shelf/Missing.
• If the item was just added to the collection and is still being processed, click on the down arrow beside No - No reason given.
  • Select No - Item too new to loan.
• To ship a physical item that is loanable, click on the box beside Item Barcode on the right hand side of the request.
  • Scan the McGraw-Page Library barcode on the back of the book.
  • Check the boxes beside Print Shipping Labels and Print Book Straps/Stickers.
  • Click Yes beside Can you supply?
• Click Print Queue > Lending > Shipping Labels.
  • Click the checkmark box next to the item, or if receiving multiple items at once you can select more than one.
  • Click Print.
  • Click the printer icon on the top right and select one of the Library COLOR printers under Destination.
  • Click Print. 
  • Cut out the Shipping Label. 
• Click Print Queue > Lending > Book Straps/Stickers.​​​​​​​
  • Click the checkmark box next to the item, or if receiving multiple items at once you can select more than one.
  • Click Print.
  • Click the printer icon on the top right and select one of the Library COLOR printers under Destination.
  • Click Print. 
  • Cut out the Book Strap.
• Wrap the front cover of the item with the Book Strap.
• Package the item using the packing materials in the Mail Room.
  • Use tape to secure all sides - we do not want the book lost or damaged in transit.
• Attach the shipping label to the front of the package.
• Place the package in the white Outgoing Mail Bin by the back door. 

Lending Whole eBooks:

• Lending whole eBooks depends on copyright and our access to the material.
• Copy the book ISBN.
• Open the Metadata tab in WMS.
• Click on Collection Manager.
• Change Data Type from Collection to Title.
• Keep Scope as My Selected Collections.
• Change Title Index from Keyword to ISBN.
• Under the Search Term(s) box, paste the ISBN.
• The search results Title should match the request Title.
• Look at the Collection. 
  • We have specific agreements based on the collection.
  • If the Collection is marked Subscription, we may not loan these titles.
  • If the Collection is marked Perpetual, we may loan these titles.
  • Refer to the VIVA Chart for the most up to date information on which titles allow whole eBook lending.
• If we cannot loan the item, return to the Interlibrary Loan request.
  • Under Can you supply? Click the downward arrow beside No - No reason given.
  • Select No - Not licensed to fill.
  • Alternatively, you may click on Conditional - Cannot lend; copy which pages?
• If we can loan the item, locate the eBook in our library catalog on the library website.
  • Download the chapter as a PDF and upload it on the item request by using Article Exchange. 
  • Check to ensure that Article Exchange generated a URL and Password.
  • Click Yes at the top of the screen beside Can you supply?

Receiving Physical Returns:

• If possible, save the packing materials (especially for large and oversized items). Remove the tape and packaging labels so that it can be reused.
• Under the Quick Links Borrowing Tab on the Tipasa Homepage, click on the search box beside Search for requests. Make sure that the dropdown box is marked Request ID.
• Scan the barcode with the ILL # on the paperwork received with the item. 
  • If there is no barcode you may look up the ILL # by typing it in.
  • If there is no paperwork, you may look up the item by changing the dropdown box to Title.
• Click Check-in/Complete.
• Place the item on the reshelving range behind the Information Desk.

Non-Circulating items:

• DVD (except for VIVA Members).
• Special Collections Materials (unless we can easily and safely copy).
• Popular Reading Collection.
• Reference Materials.
• NO INTERNATIONAL SHIPPING on loaned items (except to APO boxes).