Skip to Main Content

Interlibrary Loan Resource Sharing

A resource guide for Interlibrary Loan Resource Sharing procedures in Tipasa.

Text reads: Communications. Image shows an email icon with an @ symbol.

Internal Communications

Subject Librarian Communications:

  • When processing Borrowing Requests, if multiple requests for an item are received, inform the subject librarian based on the topic of the item. The Library may choose to purchase the item.
  • If professor requests are unfilled, contact the subject librarian to see if the item is something the library would like to purchase (if it's needed for a class).

External Communications

Contacting Outside Institutions:

  • You may need to communicate with outside institutions due to:
    • A book arriving damaged.
    • An article not being uploaded to Article Exchange properly.
    • Receiving the wrong item in the mail.
    • Other.
  • If you need to contact an institution, copy their Institution Symbol.
    • Example: RMC's Institution Symbol is VRM. This is the code listed in the lender string.
  • On the Tipasa Home page, look for the Quick Links Other: category.
  • Click on OCLC Policies Directory.
  • In the top left corner, click the box under Search > Institution Information > Search By.
  • Check to make sure that the drop down box says Institution Symbol.
  • Paste the Institution Symbol in the search box.
  • Click the green Search button on the bottom left hand side.
  • The Policy Directory for that institution should populate on the screen.
  • Click on Contacts on the top right tab.
  • Locate the contact email/phone number.
    • More than one contact may be listed. Locate the appropriate contact (borrowing contact for borrowing requests, lending contact for lending requests, general ILL contact, etc.).
  • Contact the institution using the information provided.
    • It is best to start with email to have a record of the communication.

Email Communications

ILL Email:

  • Patrons contact ILL through the ill@rmc.edu email address.
  • The Resource Sharing Manager is in charge of monitoring ILL email communications and responding.
  • Login to the ILL email using an incognito window so that it doesn't automatically log into your RMC account. 
  • Check the email weekly to keep up to date with emails. 
  • There may be emails asking for extensions on materials.
    • To request an extension, search for either the Patron Name, Request ID, or item Title.
    • Click Renew item in the top middle part of the screen.
    • It is up to the lender to approve or deny renewals.
    • Communicate to the patron requesting the renewal that you have put in a renewal request and that they will receive an automatic response with the approval/denial.
  • There may be emails about overdue materials.
    • Email the patron that the lending institution has recalled the item and that it needs to be returned to the Library Information Desk.
  • There may be emails with articles that are NOT uploaded via Article Exchange.
    • Respond to the institution to thank them for sending the article.
    • Download the PDF onto your computer.
    • Return to the Tipasa Home page.
    • Locate the ILL request with the ILL Number (should be provided by the institution emailing the article).
    • Upload the document via Article Exchange.
      • Select the item to upload from your computer and click Open.
      • Click Drop File.
      • Check that a URL and Password have generated.
      • Preview the item to make sure it uploaded properly.
    • Click Mark as received.
      • An email is automatically sent to the patron with the AE Alert URL and Password for download.

 

ILL Email Away Messages:

  • If away, set away messages on the ILL email to communicate when the emails will be received upon your return.

OCLC Policies Directory

View/Edit OCLC Policies Directory:

  • On the Tipasa Home page, look for the Quick Links Other: category.
  • Click on OCLC Policies Directory.
  • The McGraw-Page Library Policies Directory has information on our ILL policies, including:
    • OCLC Supplier status.
    • Days To Respond.
    • Non-Circulating items.
    • Loan Periods.
    • Fees.
    • Request Methods.
    • Delivery Methods.
    • Group Affiliations.
    • Information about Collections.
    • Deflections.
    • Copies policy.
    • Loans policy.
    • Contacts.
  • To update any policy, click edit beside the policy you are updating. 
  • Save any changes.
  • Note: most policies should stay the same and should not require editing.

 

Updating OCLC Supplier Status:

  • During Winter Break, ILL is temporarily put on hold while the library is closed.
  • To prevent lending requests while the library is closed, open the RMC Policies Directory. 
  • On the Tipasa Home page, look for the Quick Links Other: category.
  • Click on OCLC Policies Directory.
  • Under the Profile tab on the top of the screen, scroll down to OCLC Supplier:.
  •  Click Edit.
    • Under the Edit Profile pop-up box, click the No option under OCLC Supplier.
  • Scroll down and click the green Save box.

ILL System Emails

Updating Automatic System Email Communications:

  • Open OCLC Service Configuration.
  • Click Use Your OCLC Services Account WorldShare users affiliated with an institution.
  • Under Search Query, type VRM.
  • Click Continue.
  • On the left hand side, click on WorldShare ILL.
  • To update communication, select Notifications towards the bottom of the left hand side.
  • Automated messages will be marked with a blue check mark. 
  • To preview messages, click Preview on the right hand side of the page.
    • Each type of communication will have a preview available. 
  • To update the language of the email, click Edit on the far right side.
    • Edit the language in the Message Body.
    • Click Save all changes.
  • Preview the message again to avoid any mistakes.