McGraw-Page Library: Economics: Companies/Industries

Industry Ratios & Codes

Annual Statement Studies (RMA)
Ref HF 5681 .B2R58
This annual publication provides a variety of ratios for specific industries arranged by code.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The current classification, which replaced the 1987 SIC codes.
Use the search option or browse categories under "Reference Files."

Standard Industrial Classification Manual, 1987 (Replaced by NAICS)
Ref HF 1042 .S73
Provides the classification standard underlying all U.S. economic statistics classified by industry.

Locating Company Information- Articles, News, History, Financials, etc.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Offers users a set of tools that blend information about companies, industries and products, allowing researchers to link companies with their brands, suppliers, competitors and examine financial performance measures across product and industry sectors. Includes company highlights, stock and shareholder information, equity price reports, earnings estimates, insider and institutional holdings, executive biographies and equity research reports.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Covers global news and business information, including newswires, newspapers, magazines, and company reports.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly and popular sources in all areas of business, economics, and related fields.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Articles from magazines and journals on accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and data processing.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers from around the U.S. and the world, including the Richmond Times-Dispatch and many other local and regional newspapers in Virginia. Incorporates America's News database with addition of international sources.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
***There has been a change to the NY Times start page for campus accounts. Users are now directed to a page that either prompts them to create an account (claim your pass) or, if you have already claimed your pass, it says your pass is active and indicates the time left before they must renew the account and has a “go to nytimes.com” button. This only affects web-based access and not the app. *** Faculty and staff must renew their accounts every 4 years; student accounts expire in September of their graduation year.
Although this includes full text searchable access to the New York Times newspaper from 1851-present with original page images, a better choice for historic articles is our database New York Times with Index (Historical; 1851- 4 years ago) . Includes access to international edition, multimedia channels and more.

EDGAR/SEC Reports
Allows searching of all the SEC filings, including 10-Ks, which give the full annual financial report for the company.

International Directory of Company Histories (1988 to 2005)
HD 2721 .I63
Provides company histories for most of the world's largest companies. Arranged by industry. Use index in back of the latest volume to find the specific company. Includes mergers, brands and companies that no longer exist.

Company Annual Reports
Most public companies have their current annual reports on their web sites; many have multiple years available.