McGraw-Page Library collects winners of the Caldecott, Newbery, and Printz awards each year. These books are primarily intended to support students studying elementary education, but are available for general use. This collection has the catalog location JUV, and is located in the Children's Corner on the first floor of the library near the entrance to the Abernathy (24/7) Room. The collection can be searched in MaconCat using an advanced search for the location “Juvenile Books.”
The Library has an extensive DVD collection for both academic and entertainment purposes. DVDs can be checked out and taken from the library. They can also be viewed in the media viewing stations located on the first floor of the library, or on a portable (USB) optical drive available at the Information Desk.
The Library provides over 400,000 electronic books (ebooks) which can be accessed through MaconCat, Discovery Search, and other databases. Ebooks can be read online using a computer, smartphone, or tablet, or downloaded. Purchasing and/or subscribing to ebooks allows us to increase the number of books we make available to the community without putting increased space demands on our building. Ebooks also allow us to make an increased number of more substantial resources conveniently available to those trying to access our resources from off-campus, such as those home for breaks or doing a study abroad experience.
McGraw-Page Library supplements its academic collection with titles that reflect current events and popular trends. These titles may ultimately be added to the circulating collection. This collection has the catalog location POP and is located in the Popular Reading corner on the first floor of the library near the entrance to the Abernathy (24/7) Room. The collection can be searched in MaconCat using an advanced search for the location “Pop Reading.”
The Library collects many books by faculty, staff, and alumni of Randolph-Macon College. There is a collection in our Special Collections & Archives dedicated to R-MC publications, and many publications are also available in the circulating book collection. The collection can be searched in MaconCat or Discovery using the phrases “Publications of faculty and staff (Randolph-Macon College)” and/or “Publications of alumni (Randolph-Macon College)".
The Library offers over 30,000 streaming videos through Kanopy, American History in Video, and other sources.