All members of the Randolph-Macon College community are encouraged to use the services and resources of the McGraw-Page Library. The first floor is a social space, with group tables, computers, media and design software and equipment, Makerspace, and the 24/7 Abernathy Room. The second floor is oriented toward quiet, individual study and is furnished with carrels and enclosed group study spaces. We ask users to choose the floor and space that best suits their study habits, and to please be considerate of others near you.
Food and Drink: Drinks are permitted in most areas of the library, in containers with lids. Food is permitted, but consideration should be given to others using the space. Please refrain from eating foods with strong odors that may be distracting for other library users. Eating and drinking are not allowed in the Library Lab or when handling materials from Special Collections.
All applicable College policies also apply to individual and group activities held in the Library. Such policies include the College’s Code of Academic Integrity, Code of Student Conduct, and Computer Use Policy. These policies can be found in Fishtales: The Student Handbook.
In addition to classroom and meeting space, McGraw-Page Library offers six (6) group study rooms and one (1) silent study room.
Rooms can be reserved by current R-MC students only, but if not reserved are available on a first come, first served basis. You can check the reservation status of a room, and make a reservation:
Each student may reserve a room for up to four (4) hours per day.
Rooms may be reserved up to two (2) weeks in advance.
If they are not reserved, rooms are available on a first-come, first-served basis, but must be vacated if a reservation holder arrives.
Reservations will be forfeited after 10 minutes if the users fail to appear.
Individuals may reserve group study rooms, but please defer to groups needing the space.
Courtesy Matters:
Occupy your room. All patrons are encouraged to be respectful of their time and that of others. When it is your time to occupy the room, if it is occupied please knock softly. If it is free, just go in.
When your time is over, if another group is waiting, please leave as quickly and efficiently as possible. If no one is waiting, you may remain in the room, but only until the next group with a reservation arrives.
If your plans to use the space change, please cancel your reservation.
The Silent Study Room is room 201 on the second floor of the library.
Up to four individuals can use the silent study room simultaneously. Individual study carrels are available.
No reservation is needed.
Courtesy Matters:
To preserve the silent environment of this space, please remember:
No talking
No headphones
Cell phones on silent or vibrate
No food (drinks only)
Please address any violations of these policies yourself. The library will not police these spaces.
The library is not responsible for unattended, lost, stolen, or damaged personal items.
The classrooms located in the Library (the Oliver Classroom, Owen Conference Room, and Library Lab) may be reserved by faculty, staff, and organizations through the campus’s EMS reservation system.
Abernathy Room: The Abernathy Room is a 24/7 study space for 40–50 students. When it does not interfere with student studying, the room may be reserved for receptions for up to 50 people. Arrangements must be made with Physical Plant for cleaning the room and trash removal after the event. The room is not suitable for plated meals or buffets. Informal student meetings may occur, but the room cannot be reserved for that purpose. Access is through the fob-restricted courtyard door when the library is closed; the library-side doors will remain closed during events outside normal library hours of operation. The room is equipped with a TV monitor.
Library Lab: The library lab is intended primarily for instruction in the use of library materials. Food and drink are not allowed in the room. A second function of the room is as an open computer lab. The room may be reserved by outside groups only in the context of an event held when school is not in session. Computer access requires a network login; please contact ITS (helpline@rmc.edu or 804-752-8500) in advance.
Oliver Classroom: The Oliver Classroom seats 40 at 20 tables on casters. It is scheduled as a classroom by the Registrar and is suitable for large classes.
Owen Room: The primary purpose of the Owen Room is to serve readers using Special Collections & Archives materials. The secondary purpose of the Owen Room is to serve for meetings and presentations. The central table accommodates 18 chairs comfortably. Food and beverages may not be consumed in the room without the approval of the Library Director. Meetings scheduled past regular library hours must also receive approval from the Library Director. Doors much be locked following use.
The McGraw-Page Library is an academic library intended to support Randolph-Macon College students, faculty, and staff. Other individuals are permitted to come to the Library and use available library resources within the building, provided they conform to library rules and policies and follow directions given by Library staff members. The College reserves the right to restrict an individual from entering the McGraw-Page Library or from using some or all library resources, equipment, facilities, and/or services. Unaccompanied children under the age of 15 are not allowed in the library.
Library Card & Checking Out Books: A library card is required for borrowing materials. A Randolph-Macon College ID card functions as a library card for College students, faculty, and staff. Adult residents of Virginia may purchase a library card at a cost of $25 for the first year and $10 per year thereafter. A current driver's license or other photo ID must be presented at the Information Desk along with cash or a check made payable to "McGraw-Page Library." High school students who are residents of Hanover County must have a parent present to obtain a community card.
The fee for a library card is waived for retired R-MC faculty and staff, R-MC alumni in Hanover and adjacent counties, and Hanover County teachers.
See Borrowing & Renewing for loan periods and fine information.
One renewal may be granted if no one is waiting for the item. A maximum of five items may be out on loan to a cardholder at any one time. Community users may not borrow periodicals, reference books, movies, and special collection materials.
Students & Faculty at Other Virginia Colleges: No library card or fee will be required for students, faculty, or staff from an institution participating the VIVA Cooperative Borrowing Program or who brings a properly-issued Richmond Academic Library Consortium (RALC) borrowing pass. Students may borrow ten books at a time for one month, with one renewal. The fines and replacement fees for Community Users apply (see Borrowing & Renewing).
Use of library computers: Due to licensing agreements, online resources are not available to community users.
Use of library resources by high school students: High school students are welcome to use MaconCat, the library's catalog, which lists individual works in the library's collections but does not index periodical articles. This catalog may be used to locate books, titles of periodicals, and other items in the library's collection, which may be used within the building.
Note to high school teachers: With the above restrictions, the McGraw-Page library is not likely to be suitable for routine use by most secondary school students. However, if there is a special need for a particular student or group of students to do advanced library research, please contact the Reference Librarian, Laurie Preston by e-mail at lpreston@rmc.edu or by phone at (804) 752-4718 to arrange for help and/or instruction on a case-by-case basis.
For further information on use of the Library by community patrons, please contact Judee Showalter, Circulation Supervisor, by phone at (804) 752-7388 or by e-mail at jshowalter@rmc.edu.
The collections of the McGraw-Page Library are purchased for the non-profit, educational use of students and faculty. Priority is given to academic resources that broadly support the College curriculum.
Any member of the Randolph-Macon College community can recommend items for the library to purchase. Recommendations should be submitted using this form or sent to the appropriate Subject Librarian. Recommendations may also be submitted using the suggestion box located on the Information Desk on the first floor of the Library.
Every effort is made to purchase recommended items. If you have questions about a title you would like to recommend, please contact your Subject Librarian.
McGraw-Page Library is grateful to receive gifts and donations of materials that extend and/or complement existing collections. Such materials should be in good condition, clean, and with little if any highlighting or marking. Due to the high cost of processing donated materials, the Library cannot accept all donations. Although there are some exceptions, we do not accept:
Please contact the Library Director at (804) 752-7256 or NancyFalcianiWhite@rmc.edu before bringing us a donation. If you are interested in donating materials of rare or historic value, or that relate to the history of Randolph-Macon College, please contact Mary Virginia Currie at (804) 752-3203 or MaryVirginiaCurrie@rmc.edu.
If you would like a letter of acknowledgment for your donation, please tell us at the time you make the donation and provide us with your name, address, and a count of the number of items in your donation. According to federal law, we are prohibited from setting a monetary value on your gift. If you would like to claim your donation on your income tax return, please consult the US Internal Revenue Service's page on Charitable Contributions. If you wish to have your donation appraised, please complete the appraisal process before turning the material over to us.
All donations become the property of the McGraw-Page Library, and the library reserves the right to dispose of all donated materials according to our professional judgment. This means that we may decide to keep, give away, or sell what you donate.
Thank you for your support of the McGraw-Page Library.